Nosh (Downtown Colorado Springs)

Nosh may be a little hard to find, but don’t think it’s your typical hole-in-the-wall-downtown-joint. When walking into Nosh, you instantly know you’re in for a treat with its chic ambiance of coy fish decorated walls and modern furniture. The wait staff couldn’t have been more friendly and catered to us with genuine sincerity even with a large lunch crowd rush.


So to the food! As an appetizer, I order the green chili cheese fries. The fries were thickly cut and the portion was big enough for two. The green chili had a great smoky flavor that was enhanced by the smooth melted cheese. I also ordered the Spicy Lentil and Coconut Soup, which had an interesting balance of flavor with the hint of coconut, but the texture was a little much for me.  Imagine eating hummus like a soup.  I didn’t hate it, but my companion loved it.  So, I guess its worth a try if you’re into lentils.  For lunch, I ordered the Spicy Buffalo sandwich with a Caesar salad on the side. The Spicy Bison sandwich included braised bison, jalapenos, Anaheim peppers, onions, pepper jack cheese, cayenne mayo, served on buttery toast with a side of sweet jus. The Caesar Salad was perfectly dressed, meaning NOT overdressed and was uniquely topped with crispy cheese chips and some red pepper flakes. I have to say NOT all Caesar salads taste the same after this! The sandwich had tender juicy bison and the perfectly toasted butter bread didn’t really need the sweet jus on the side, but it sure didn’t hurt! I also ordered the Nosh burger.  The meat is cured and the Chef recommends it cooked medium rare which is usually a notch under how I like my burgers, but hey if the Chef recommends it, how could I argue?  I was glad I didn’t!  The juiciness of the burger mixed with the unique flavors of the chili onion relish practically gave me a FOODgasm!  It was a perfect entrée to a side of sweet potato fries that were perfectly seasoned.  My companion was a vegetarian and she ordered the Banana Curry Lettuce Wraps.  This is a wonderful dish for vegetarians and a surprise for the palate.  The mix of dried bananas, carrots, and apples provided a great texture to the dish, while the curry boosted the flavor as it partnered with cilantro.   Another plus, they offered great Sangrias for only $5! Try the Blueberry Sangria which had a nice kick to it! I also tried the Elderflower, Grapefruit, and the Pomegranate.  Hey, I’m a critic, I have to try the gamut! 🙂  All the Sangrias were good, but careful with the grapefruit if you don’t like grapefruit, you won’t like this drink. 

Overall Analysis: A nice surprise for a surprisingly low price!

    • Jackie
    • July 28th, 2011

    It sounds awesome. I can’t wait to try it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

